Florida is home to almost 20 million people and thousands of tourists; therefore, many drivers are on the roadways. Unfortunately, more than 50 thousand people are arrested each year for driving under the influence and hundreds of deaths occur because the driver had a BAC that is over the legal limit. As a result, the state has strict laws concerning driving under the influence.
You are considered driving under the influence if you have a Blood Alcohol Content of more than .08. The first DUI conviction could result in a fine of up to $1000 and up to 6 months in jail. Your license could be revoked for a year, and you must complete 50 hours of community service. In order to get your license reinstated, you must complete a DUI course.
If you are arrested for driving under the influence a second time, you will be required to pay $1000 to $2000, and you can spend up to 9 months in jail. If the second offence is within five years of the first offence your license will be revoked for five years. You will be required to use an ignition interlock device for at least six months, and you must complete a DUI school.
A third driving under the influence offence that occurs within ten years of the prior conviction will result in a fine of up to $5000. You could spend up to five years in jail, and you will lose your license for ten years. You must sign up for a DUI school, and you must use an ignition interlock device for at least two years.
A fourth DUI offence will be considered a felony, and you will pay a fine of up to $5000 and spend up to five years in prison. You will permanently lose your license; however, you can ask for a reinstatement after ten years.
If serious injuries or deaths occur, you will face harsher penalties. Stricter penalties will also occur if your BAC is over 0.15 or if you have a minor in the vehicle. After any DUI conviction, you will be required to purchase Florida SR22 insurance. Unfortunately, this type of insurance can be costly, so you need to search around to find a trusted company.
If you are convicted of DUI manslaughter, your license will be revoked permanently. You must complete DUI school, and you must wait five years to apply for a hardship license.
Florida has zero tolerance for drivers under the age of 21. If you are caught driving under the influence and you are under 21, you will lose your license for six months. Your BAC cannot be over .02. Therefore, you cannot drink a single drop of alcohol or you could be convicted of driving under the influence.
If you are pulled over for driving under the influence, you must submit to a chemical test. Your driver’s license will be suspended if you refuse to take a chemical test of your blood, breath or urine. The results of the chemical test can be used in court.
If you are accused of driving under the influence, you have the right to seek legal counsel. Your attorney might try to get the prosecution to accept a plea bargain. In this case, the charges will be reduced to reckless driving. You could have the option of a plea bargain if your BAC is questionable and you do not have a prior record.
Your attorney will request a special hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. A meeting with this department could result in you being able to keep your driver’s license.
After being arrested for driving under the influence, several conditions must be met before you can be released. You must no longer be impaired, and you cannot still be under the influence of alcohol. Your BAC level must be lower than .05, and eight hours must have passed from the time of your arrest.
Driving under the influence can have devastating consequences on your life. You need to seek the advice of an experienced lawyer, so he can help you with your case, and you can begin a life without drinking and driving.
Drinking while under the influence significantly increases your chances of having an accident. You should not drink while operating a motor vehicle; however, if you are pulled over and accused of driving under the influence, you need to call a lawyer. He can inform you of your rights and help you dispute the charges.
The Romano Law Group have been serving Southern Florida for decades. Their approach to clients is the same as its always been: what is best for the client is the best for them. If you want the best palm beach personal injury lawyer, look no further and get your free case evaluation today.